To serve as the principal academic, administrative and research leader and chief executive officer of the Institute. To implement approved policies.

Executive Committee

To assist the Director in the implementation of plans, programs and policies adopted by the IB regular faculty and for the coordination, administration, and supervision of the internal and external operations of IB. To be represented by the elected Heads (preferably with a PhD degree) of each Academic Group and Deputy Directors as Ex-officio members. The term of office of elected Academic Group Heads is co-terminus with the Director, i.e., from August 1, 2015 to July 31, 2018 or unless sooner terminated. The Deputy Directors are appointed by the Director on a yearly basis.

Ernelea P. Cao, Ph.D.
Director, Institute of Biology
Chair, Institute of Biology Executive Committee
Jonas P. Quilang, Ph.D.
Deputy Director for Academic Affairs (DDAA)
Jonathan A. Anticamara, Ph.D.
Deputy Director for Research & Extension (DDRE)
Luis Maria B. Garcia, D.F.Sc.
Deputy Director for Administration (DDA)
Sonia D. Jacinto, Ph.D.
Developmental Biology Academic Group (DBAG) Head
Ian Kendrich C. Fontanilla, Ph.D.
Genetics Academic Group (GAG) Head
Windell L. Rivera, Ph.D.
Microbiology and Cell Biology Academic Group (MCBAG) Head
Juliana Janet M. Puzon, Ph.D.
Physiology Academic Group (PAG) Head
Francis S. Magbanua, Ph.D.
Ecology and Taxonomy Academic Group (ETAG) Head



To coordinate and facilitate the recording of minutes of faculty meetings as well as the record of attendance, and submit a copy to the IB Office for filing purposes.

Chairs: Mr. Jordan Ferdin A. Halili and Mr. Jay C. Delfin
Members: All Instructors